Okay, so -- when I was younger, there was this show, The Pirates of Dark Water. I loved that show with the sort of single-minded devotion that a six-year-old has for a favorite toy, though after a while it just seemed to go away, and so (also ike a six year old) I kind of forgot about it. A few years later, I caught some new episodes and boggled, because hey, what, THESE ARE NEW. It wasn't till years later that I found out that the series had been cancelled before it ever reached completion; Ren and his crew were sort of stuck in this eternal fictional limbo, with eight of the thirteen Treasures of Rule collected and Bloth and his crew ever-dogging their heels.
Which you know, struck me as a crying shame, because of all the cartoons I watched as a kid (and hell, of the cartoons I watch now), PoDW had the sort of really fantastic, just-barely explored world that had all KINDS of potential behind it. This was a fully-developed fantasy world with its own set of countries, races, magic and strange wildlife. They even had their own cusswords, and I mean, dude, we're not talking about like an anime character muttering "kuso" or anything -- they had full phrases that probably, in translation, were quite colorful. It was probably one of my first exposures to the "epic quest" storyline, where the point wasn't a constant gag-of-the-week, but an ongoing story, trying to seek a set of artifacts. From what I can remember, there wasn't too much of the filler stuff, either, because with only sixteen (or so) episodes and eight treasures found, there wasn't much time for extras.
But ... then it just ended. Thinking back, that was probably one of my first exposures to the disappointment of having something I liked canceled. XD; I was terribly excited last year when
sharky_chan was able to find some of the episodes for download, but they were of ... dubious quality. And sort of froze at one point, so we never did find out (again, but still) whether or not Ren GOT AWAY FROM THE PIRATES O NOEZ!!1!
Tonight,
voodoobob tells me that they at least made a video game, ostensibly to cover the finding of the final five treasures.
O RLY? I said.
YA RLY, she said.
And then she gave me a download link.
I ... have no idea if the game really IS that, but if it tells me how Ren eventually (as we know he will, because this is a commercial story from the early '90s, what) gathers all Thirteen Treasures and becomes King of Octapon again.
[goes to download and CRACK IT OPEN]
Which you know, struck me as a crying shame, because of all the cartoons I watched as a kid (and hell, of the cartoons I watch now), PoDW had the sort of really fantastic, just-barely explored world that had all KINDS of potential behind it. This was a fully-developed fantasy world with its own set of countries, races, magic and strange wildlife. They even had their own cusswords, and I mean, dude, we're not talking about like an anime character muttering "kuso" or anything -- they had full phrases that probably, in translation, were quite colorful. It was probably one of my first exposures to the "epic quest" storyline, where the point wasn't a constant gag-of-the-week, but an ongoing story, trying to seek a set of artifacts. From what I can remember, there wasn't too much of the filler stuff, either, because with only sixteen (or so) episodes and eight treasures found, there wasn't much time for extras.
But ... then it just ended. Thinking back, that was probably one of my first exposures to the disappointment of having something I liked canceled. XD; I was terribly excited last year when
Tonight,
O RLY? I said.
YA RLY, she said.
And then she gave me a download link.
I ... have no idea if the game really IS that, but if it tells me how Ren eventually (as we know he will, because this is a commercial story from the early '90s, what) gathers all Thirteen Treasures and becomes King of Octapon again.
[goes to download and CRACK IT OPEN]
From:
no subject
ZOMG tell me if it's any good.
I loved PoDW! Ren was, well okay hot, but COOL, especially given my age at the time. It was one of the only cartoons I watched that featured humans (or, if memory serves, close enough) and just..nngh, cool. The Dark Water itself always seemed amazingly creepy.
...man, I want to be able to watch that again, now.
From:
no subject
YES. The whole idea of the Dark Water itself was just fantastically creepy -- and then there was that episode with the kids who drank the stuff and EW. EW, but that's still cool too, in a really twisted and strange way that I never got as a kid.
When I was little, I decided I would run away on Ren's ship and be really cool like him. Because he was that cool.It's also a DVD set I would seriously consider buying, if it came out. D: Though I still wanna know how it ended, damnit.
From:
no subject
But yes! So creepy, and so cool and blithe honestly seemed like a good villian; a lot of the current cartoon villians seem to be trying too hard, you know? They're not so much scary as they are hackneyed and spazzy with bad facial hair. But I remember being honestly scared of and not liking Blithe. I mean, I was only seven or so, but still >->
The link you posted also had a torrent link for all the eps, but it seems to be dead/down :( I would totally be into buying it, if only it existed V-V
From:
no subject
And yes, that's the THING -- I think (just from what I've briefly sampled) that some cartoons are moving back towards the whole "darker storyline" style of show, but I mean, a good villain is hard to pull off. Just because your target audience is mostly comprised of kids doesn't mean you have to go for hackneyed swaggering mustache-twirling bad guys. T_T
... D: Aw man, that sucks. D: MAYBE SOMEDAY they'll release the DVDs; I hear they're starting to do that with some of the more obscure 80s shows ... >_>
From:
no subject
Yeah, kids generally aren't as dumb as people seem to think they are -- I mean, a lot of stuff might still go over their head, but if the villian is honestly scary and bad, kids will pick up on it. Clever like that >->
Yeah, I've noticed that too -- we can hope!
From:
no subject
And the thing is? Even if the kids don't pick up on it the first time, these kids will grow up and look back and really, I think the mark of a good lasting story is when you realize just HOW much was going over your head that you're only really getting as an older-person. (I mean, remembering stuff now makes me want to go watch the show again, just to see what I missed, as a kid.)
From:
no subject
We need more villains like Bloth.
From:
no subject
From:
no subject
Yes. skhfdhk. Funny story: I saw the ads for the Genesis game before I ever saw the actual show, and the ads featured Bloth's hideous mug prominently... and that actually put me somewhat OFF this whole "Pirates of Dark Water" thing because eeeeegh that guy with the blue lips was scary.
From:
no subject
I... think Ren may be to blame for my dark skin+light hair trigger. XDIf an actual DVD set of this came out, I'd be all over it. ALL OVER IT.
From:
no subject
... it does have to start SOMEWHERE. XDME TOO WHAT THE HELL. Seriously, I think the show's worth it. D:
From:
no subject
And even that was only part of the creepy - she was SO OBSESSED with Primus it was genuinely disturbing. She actually called Ren 'Primus' while she was flirting with him, and it was just... oough.
There are worse places for it to start. XDIt really is. D:
From:
no subject
Oh, there totally are. Is it bad that I want to see Ren with his animation updated juuuust a little, to see how it looks? :3From:
no subject
Noooo, not at all. Not at all. 8D ... in other news I am totally not tempted to fanart Ren, not at all, of course not.From:
no subject
:d mmmyes. He's just so...well, okay, early-90s-animation-looking, but still! *wild guesturing* hotness and coloring hoyay!
From:
no subject
From:
no subject
I so wanted to marry Ren when I was little...
From:
no subject
If it's for real, I will be so incredibly happy. *_____________*
From:
no subject
From:
no subject
From:
no subject
... right, so forget music for the rest of the night, I'mma gonna look those up. XD
From:
no subject
Enjoy!
From:
no subject
But now I know!
Ah, those fond monkeybird memories....
From:
no subject
(One totally wishes we could've at least gotten a wrap-up movie. That might've been all kinds of awesome. D:)
From:
no subject
You do get to fight as either Ren, Tula, or Ioz. But basically it's...a really crappy game. XD about the only think lamer is the Pirates of Darkwater comic book (http://www-personal.umich.edu/~onyabear/temp/pirates/), which pretty much follows the first dozen episodes exactly but with really, really bad art (http://www-personal.umich.edu/~onyabear/temp/pirates/rencrossedeyes.jpg).
What I want to know is if Pirates was popular enough for bad tie-ins, why wasn't it popular enough to stay on the air? (Too dark? Too sophisticated? The episodes were always being aired out of order?)
From:
no subject
... also? That comic book scares me. o_O Here we are, reminiscing on Ren's belatedly-noticed hotness, and then his eyes are ... not level on his face. Um. >_>
From what I understand (and this is totally bare bones, here), it was because the ratings weren't good enough to warrant finishing the series? After the original miniseries (first five episodes or so), the budget went severely down, and after that, apparently it just died a slow death. D: Though seriously, I would totally be all over the DVD set if it ever does come out. (Even moreso if we get a special bonus of, I dunno. THE ENDING. XD)
From:
no subject
YES. And he has G.I. Joe muscles! Ren was an acrobat, not a big hulking bodybuilder!
Hm yes, I remember the original miniseries. It got this huge publicity push, posters everywhere, television commercials...I think the problem wasn't that the show wasn't selling, but that it wasn't meeting expectations. (But yanno, that's what HAPPENS when you stop supporting something mid-run. I know they say publicity can only make people watch the first episode, it can't keep them there, but there was no need to like...cut the budget...and show the episodes out of order.)
From:
no subject
Ren with big bulging muscles kind of makes me die a little inside. I liked that the hero was strong enough to handle trouble without being a MACHO MACHO MAN.
[ponders] I think I might've been too young to remember the commercials, because I don't remember how I started watching the show, but I DO remember how difficult it was to catch it at the proper time. And the out of order thing, because there were points where I was never quite sure just HOW many Treasures they had at any given point. D:
From:
no subject
Another really good show that was released before its time -- ie, before Geek became (more) mainstream -- was Biker Mice from Mars.
I seem to remember...in Japan, television shows make up for their production costs by milking the hardcore fans (expensive DVD sets, merchandising). But in America they typically make up for them in syndication, where the episodes are replayed endlessly in random order. That's why most American shows, especially children's shows, are NOT serial. But lately this has been changing, maybe because serial shows (like ported anime) have been proving more sucessful.
From:
no subject
... Biker Mice from Mars I REMEMBER THAT ONE TOO oh good LORD. XD I don't remember much about it except for big buff anthromorphic mice with ... antenna? And one was kind of green in color? My mental image is somehow overlapping with a child's cartoonish impression of Rambo, and I don't know if that's right or not. XD
Huh. I'd believe it (especially with the DVD sets -- I have a few friends who collect the R2 sets, and one of them was describing them in price terms of "rings" -- i.e., the expensive engagement ring he bought his girlfriend -- and yeaaaah), but. If there IS a revival of the serial consecutive-story show, that would be beyond awesome. [hopeful!]
From:
no subject
I LOVED IT
From:
no subject
I still wish it'd ended properly. D:
From:
no subject
From:
no subject
I may check out that site, though most of the actual PoDW fansites have said there's no info just yet. Hope over experience, what! Maybe we'll get lucky. >_> Thanks for the tip~
From:
no subject
I miss pirates of the darkwater.
/cries
From:
no subject
O, beloved old cartoons. D: