So, I beat Okami.
AND I CRIED. JUST LIKE EVERYONE SAID I WOULD. D:
Overall, this was a gorgeous game, and well worth replay value. There were frustrating parts (all of the "move round rolling things with Amaterasu's HEAD" for example, and the races on Oni Island), but overall it wasn't brain-breakingly difficult OR childishly easy, and one of my friends noted a while back that it feels like you're playing inside of an actual Japanese painting, which is true. The way your menus are set up, the style of art within the game -- I know, I know, Square Enix is all cutting-edge with its lovely realistic CG graphics, but I would love to see more games in the style of Okami, both in art and in story.
--because this game is something like 500000x better if you've got a decent grasp of Japanese mythology (and it seems, from watching the demo videos, that the names were "shortened" in the English release; Kushi is really supposed to be Kushinada, Nagi and Nami are Izanagi and Izanami, etc.), and pretty much every major character you meet has a folkstory attatched to them somewhere. GameFaqs even has a mythology FAQ, which was a good summary (I didn't know about Oki's place, for one) and is a convinient list of all of the brush gods. >_>
... so, who does one go about thinking hopeful thoughts at, to get a sequel?
AND I CRIED. JUST LIKE EVERYONE SAID I WOULD. D:
Overall, this was a gorgeous game, and well worth replay value. There were frustrating parts (all of the "move round rolling things with Amaterasu's HEAD" for example, and the races on Oni Island), but overall it wasn't brain-breakingly difficult OR childishly easy, and one of my friends noted a while back that it feels like you're playing inside of an actual Japanese painting, which is true. The way your menus are set up, the style of art within the game -- I know, I know, Square Enix is all cutting-edge with its lovely realistic CG graphics, but I would love to see more games in the style of Okami, both in art and in story.
--because this game is something like 500000x better if you've got a decent grasp of Japanese mythology (and it seems, from watching the demo videos, that the names were "shortened" in the English release; Kushi is really supposed to be Kushinada, Nagi and Nami are Izanagi and Izanami, etc.), and pretty much every major character you meet has a folkstory attatched to them somewhere. GameFaqs even has a mythology FAQ, which was a good summary (I didn't know about Oki's place, for one) and is a convinient list of all of the brush gods. >_>
... so, who does one go about thinking hopeful thoughts at, to get a sequel?
From:
no subject
From:
no subject
That IS a horrible shame -- especially with the dialogue at the end, it seemed left wide open for something if anyone so desired. >_>
I will comfort myself with Japanese fanart, then. ._.
From:
no subject
But yanno, small little wonders like this pop up now and again in the gaming world. You should play Shadow of the Colossus next. That was the obscure gem we all were infatuated with before Okami (but after Katamari). Colossus was made by the same dream team that came up with ICO. Both games were great in their own right, and you could tell that the same people made them... but they weren't sequels and they held on their own. Definitely worth a try if you're into these types of games.
From:
no subject
And I've heard good things about Shadow of the Colossus, but when I saw it played, it didn't really do much for me--? Maybe I should try actually playing it, though at the moment, I am underwhelmed. :\
From:
no subject
Aww, that's a shame. :/ Sure, it's not a comedy like Okami, but I've known you to like more serious things too. I personally liked the innovation of Colossus. But I have absolutely no idea how to guess which series you'll like, because it's massively different each time. ^^ You follow no pattern at all, Kouhai. All the things I think you might like, you refuse to try. ^o^;;
From:
no subject
Ahaha, I'm sorry? XD; Part of the problem with games is that I don't want to try if it means buying them (because what happens if I don't like them, I'm cheap), and I'm usually too forgetful/tired to go rent anything when I get home from work. I watched people in the club room playing Colossus for a few hours, and it was pretty, it just didn't do anything for me. >_>
Maybe someday, though!
From:
no subject
From:
no subject
From:
no subject
This game is so good, I wanna go out and get the Japanese version just for kicks XD;;; Too bad about the sequel tho =/ I would definitely like another game in this style!
btw, thanks for the fanart links! XD
From:
no subject
I'd love to see a sequel based on some of the stuff that's kind of there in the background of the last cinematic, but if it won't happen, at least there was the first one. T_T
Noooo problem. :D Because of them, I totally am shipping Oki x Ammy now, though, and that's ... possibly terrible. XD
From:
no subject
I heard you get to unlock diff versions of Ammy too 8D What did you get? Oh, and did you collect all the stray beads?
LOL~ I suppose its not as bad as...Waka/Ammy...at least Oki goes wolf XD;;;
From:
no subject
I did not know about the unlocking of different versions, though, so I shall hafta check it out. 8D
Yes, yes, exactly! There's one site I like that has the "original" character Tsukiyomi, Amaterasu's moon-god brother, wandering haplessly after his sister and going HOW DARE YOU MARRY HER >EEE at Oki, which is all sorts of hilarious. XD ♥
From:
no subject
Do check it out! My friend finished it...and I heard she played as this super FLUFFY version of Ammy XDDD Good stuff!
omg I'd love to see that XDDD
From:
no subject
http://konjo.sub.jp/o-kami/ (http://konjo.sub.jp/o-kami/)
From:
no subject
From:
no subject
From:
no subject
i have the jp version, bought it as soon as it came out then because commercials for it were always running when i was watching gintama or stupid variety cooking shows on tv XD wtf they shortened the names for the english version? why?
From:
no subject
I don't know why they shortened the names; they did for some, but not others. But it sort of leaves one with the dilemna of "I know that's their 'translated' names, but they really ARE named after the mythological figures whyyyyyy."
Also, they changed Yuugami to Kasugami. I'm not sure why of that, either. o_oa