Occasionally, you know, I think my problem is -- now and then, I want to write really big, really dramatic!, really sharply-in-my-head scenes ... without the benefit of all the buildup. Sometimes, I don't WANT to write the 6000+ words that will lead to a certain exact scene where I can use the specific turn of phrase I have in my head; I don't want to wait.
I like my instant gratification, damnit! :<
This gets especially bad when I start reading/looking around in new fandoms -- because then there's just this whole GLUT of THINGS I WANT TO PLAY WITH! but at the same time, there's that whole "but this is a new fandom, do I know what I'm talking about no I don't, shut up me" that happens. Dramatic moments (I find) work better if they're built up to, buuuut ...
Sometimes, I just want the flash and the bang and the rabbit leaping out of the hat, and skip the hocus-pocus wand-waving beforehand.
--this message brought to you by: it's Friday, it's two hours (maybe) till my weekend, and the fact that I am entirely lame and nearly two years after a friend lent me the volumes I started reading Tsubasa and fell harder and faster than I thought I would. T______T
Also, the letter R. As in, "arrrrrrrgh."
I like my instant gratification, damnit! :<
This gets especially bad when I start reading/looking around in new fandoms -- because then there's just this whole GLUT of THINGS I WANT TO PLAY WITH! but at the same time, there's that whole "but this is a new fandom, do I know what I'm talking about no I don't, shut up me" that happens. Dramatic moments (I find) work better if they're built up to, buuuut ...
Sometimes, I just want the flash and the bang and the rabbit leaping out of the hat, and skip the hocus-pocus wand-waving beforehand.
--this message brought to you by: it's Friday, it's two hours (maybe) till my weekend, and the fact that I am entirely lame and nearly two years after a friend lent me the volumes I started reading Tsubasa and fell harder and faster than I thought I would. T______T
Also, the letter R. As in, "arrrrrrrgh."
Tags:
From:
no subject
You've become a TRC convert? Sweet. I write fic for that. If you need any info (e.g., "can I write this plot and not contradict the canon?") feel free to pick my brain. I would be very happy if you started writing fic.
From:
no subject
I WILL HAVE YOU KNOW I AVOIDED TSUBASA FOR YEARS. Years. I read two volumes back in the day, was like "eh, it's fun but whatever" and then suddenly, it's like I'm seriously considering going out and buying my own copies. :<
I, I may have to take you up on that, ahahahah ...
From:
no subject
TRC only gets better as the series progresses. The love triangle between Sakura and the Syaoran[s] is so twisted and wonderful... and don't even get me started on Kurogane and Fai. ♥
From:
no subject
I ... showed one of my roommates a group photo and said PICK MY FAVORITE :D and she (unerringly) picked Fai. ... I think I'm really predictable, because I really liked Syaoran and Sakura in the original CCS, but Kurogane and Fai push a lot of me HAHAHA UR DORKS buttons, at least early on. (And THEN they push my tragic angst buttons, but er. I like the dork part possibly more. XD)
From:
no subject
c_c sometimes just throwing out the climax and THEN bothering with the buildup is more effective at catching people's attention...maybe? *encourages*
*brought to your journal for the second time, this time by ontogenesis up there. XD*
From:
no subject
--the thing is, the scene I have in mind could totally work at the beginning of a (long) fic, but. It would also mean I'd basically have to fly in the face of canon, since CLAMP has only just started touching on Celes and Ashura-ou and the ilk.
[so very, very weak]
p.s. Hi a second time! XD
From:
no subject
Hmm, but take heart: lots of us have already flown in the face of canon like that on the subject of Celes and Ashura-ou, since they've been giving us nothing forever anyway.
It's possible I just want to see what this might shape up to be, but my intentions are good!p.s. ^_^/ Hee!
From:
no subject
--and you're absolutely right, I'm just a weenie and this would be my second Tsubasa fic, and also a long(er?) one. With, like, dramatic battles and fighting and oh man, I suck at action scenes. XD
I don't need the encouragement, I've got challenge deadlines breathing down my neck!Which is to say that if (...when) I get around to it, I hope I don't disappoint. XD
♥
From:
no subject
Ohh, I see. :3 (Second? Where's the first? *looks curious~*)
I'm sure you'll do fine. :) your writing is so lovely!
From:
no subject
(Oh, gosh, it was maybe a year or two ago? It was just a short quick little SyaoSaku fic, The Fairy-Tale Try. My god, it was lame. XD;
Thank you! I shall endeavor to do my best. :D
I may even waste my weekend writing, I'm so sad with a little encouragement. XDFrom:
no subject
From:
no subject
From:
no subject
From:
no subject
From:
no subject
Which is why the majority of what I write never gets put up, because no one would have any idea what was going on, though they might think and/or comment 'this is exciting, I wish she had actually decided to write a story and not a random!scene'
Sigh. Tsubasa is pretty dang addicting. And wonderful.
From:
no subject
Tsubasa is pretty damn addictive. I tore through the whole thing in about a week and now, well. I am in that stage where I want to write fic, but knowing that they're apparently on the precipiece of big plot developments, I'm leary. XD
I am so weak vs. shiny. XD