How I spent my free time at work today.

It's sort of weird; it's one of those things you sort of notice, in a vaguely "mean girls from highschool" way -- I think most people do, from time to time, think this way, even if they don't mean it (and if you don't, you're a far better person than me) -- how there are certain folks, fan and professional alike, whose egos far balloon what talents they have. You know, the shrieking girl on the forum who insists that her writing is HIGH ART and you're all JUST JEALOUS because YOU ALL SUCK, or the guy who looks down on you because you're RUINING HIS PRECIOUS CALLING IN LIFE by perverting it into a mere hobby. Reading the abstract and the bulk of the article itself kind of raises a "well, duh?" impression in me, though it takes about 500x more words to say it.

... next [livejournal.com profile] spring_kink story to be posted tomorrow, and so OF COURSE I suddenly have a case of the "this is CRAP ISN'T IT D:" paranoias. Part of me is tempted to scrap the whole thing (short as it is) and just rewrite, though in true grand Procrastinators Annonymous fashion, I have something like 3/7 Y_C stories that are either unfinished or completely unstarted, and roughly a week and change to make or break the deadline.

... it's a growing experience. Yeah.

From: [identity profile] laylah.livejournal.com


so -- totally unrelated -- i am supposed to have a phone interview tomorrow morning with yr recruiter, thanks to [livejournal.com profile] shadawyn's influence. anything I should say to her about the position on your team? (have just replied to yr email, but i think it was to your grownup address, so you might not be checking that much at home...?)

From: [identity profile] ontogenesis.livejournal.com


Haha, looks like an interesting read there.... :bookmarks:

It's difficult not to let your ego get out of control if a lot of people praise you. Then there are the people who aren't praised (or at least not by many), but their own imaginations are enough to make up for the lack of priase. ^^;;
:shrugs: It's tricky. In the arts, you need a certain amount of self-confidence, but if you have too much it affects your art negatively.

From: [identity profile] kawaiigami.livejournal.com


Yeah, I think all of us can get overconfident--it's part of being human, it's cool. We all make mistakes. What I look at more is a person's reaction to the realization that maybe they aren't the pwecious snowflake they thought they were. Reactions like those you describe above will definitely make me wonder about someone. Disappointment because you worked hard and tried your best but still fell short of what you wanted is okay, IMHO. You chalk it up to a learning experience. It takes guts to put yourself on the line like that, anyway.

Still, overinflated egos are annoying! People that cannot admit to an imperfection or consider the indea that they might be wrong annoy me highly. >_< I say this knowing I probably come across that way sometimes.^^;;;
.

Most Popular Tags

Powered by Dreamwidth Studios

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags