Other people have said it better than I have, but for the record, I would like to state a few things:
I liked Winry + Al LONG before I even THOUGHT of the possibility of Roy/Ed slash. This was before I even STARTED looking at J-fanart. I distinctly remember watching the first eight episodes with
chirachira and saying, IN EPISODE THREE, "awww, I hope they don't go with the typical hetpairing and put Winry with Al♥" I was the Winry/Al fan first; the Roy/Ed came MUCH later.
People who take personal offense to pairings will never, EVER make sense to me. For one thing, dear god, you're taking the lovelives of fictional people to an extent that would be scary even if you're applying it YOUR OWN REAL LIFE. For another, the high-and-mighty attitude rarely appeals to anyone, except perhaps your friends, who hopefully know better of you.
... in other news, I have a bio test in an hour and a half, but.
OMG GETBACKERS CHAPTER 64. T___________________________T I am once again determined to make my next main blog layout Emishi, Amon, or both. T__________T! And Ban, you were surprisingly a nice guy, for all that you barely appeared in this chapter. XD
Like every other arc in GB, as Senpai noted, it ends in SAP. But it's good sap, really. [laughs] For one thing, EVERYONE was happy, rather than Emishi wandering off wistful and sad. ♥♥♥
I liked Winry + Al LONG before I even THOUGHT of the possibility of Roy/Ed slash. This was before I even STARTED looking at J-fanart. I distinctly remember watching the first eight episodes with
People who take personal offense to pairings will never, EVER make sense to me. For one thing, dear god, you're taking the lovelives of fictional people to an extent that would be scary even if you're applying it YOUR OWN REAL LIFE. For another, the high-and-mighty attitude rarely appeals to anyone, except perhaps your friends, who hopefully know better of you.
... in other news, I have a bio test in an hour and a half, but.
OMG GETBACKERS CHAPTER 64. T___________________________T I am once again determined to make my next main blog layout Emishi, Amon, or both. T__________T! And Ban, you were surprisingly a nice guy, for all that you barely appeared in this chapter. XD
Like every other arc in GB, as Senpai noted, it ends in SAP. But it's good sap, really. [laughs] For one thing, EVERYONE was happy, rather than Emishi wandering off wistful and sad. ♥♥♥
Tags:
From:
no subject
Wai! I'm glad I'm not the only one like this; Winry/Al was the first to ping on my radar as well. I can't remember specifically what it was (I marathoned the first ~13 episodes, so they all sort of blur together for me, plus, it was so long ago now), I just remember coming away with the feeling of, "Oooh, I like those two...." I later got more distracted by the Roy/Ed, but Winry/Al came first on my radar.
As for J-fanart, the only thing that managed to convince me of was Hawkeye/Havoc (given that I cannot find the damned Winry/Al fanart and I WANT IT RIGHT NOW *stomps foot*)... well, okay, it helped along my Roy/Ed fondness, but it certainly didn't convince me of it in the first place. XD
For another, the high-and-mighty attitude rarely appeals to anyone, except perhaps your friends, who hopefully know better of you.
....I knew there was a reason I loved you. ^_~ (Translation: Word, Word, Wordy McWord.)
From:
no subject
Anyway, hahaha, it's good to know it's not just me. >_> Once I found the J-search sites, the first thing I looked up was Winry/Al, and to my dismay, there was next to NOTHING. T_T So to console myself, I clicked on the Roy/Ed ("it's weird, but what the heck, I could use a laugh")--and now look at me. >_> How the mighty (or not-so-mighty, 'cos I'm too SHORT FOR THAT, rawr) have fallen. XD
I can only take the high-and-mighty attitude from friends, really, and even then, only in short doses. It very quickly goes to a "right, not fun/funny anymore" thing, at which point I get snappy and snarky as best I can. [laughs]
Rawr. XD;;
From:
no subject
Aaaaaand there was much squealing and fangirling from my corner. ^_~ Ultimately, I preferred Tohru as their friend rather than their girlfriend (because they needed to be accepted on a level of friendship, rather than a "love is blind to all faults" sort of love, I always thought), but I definitely had a pro-Kyouru bent. They were just... so cute (and fun/spazzy) together and she was so utterly perfect for him. *hanyan~* (Plus, it indulged my fondness for the crack-tastic Yuki/Hana-chan.)
Hawkeye/Havoc is also rather difficult to find--I've found two or three sites that had some nice stuff, but a webring or a union would be muuuuch appreciated. *tries to plant the subconscious suggestion in some J-fangirl's mind* +__+
IIRC, I wanted to find Winry/Al at first, too, but the pretty stuff all seemed to be centered around Roy/Ed (or Hughes/Roy with the occasional Havoc/Roy) and so I started clicking and people started talking about it on my friend's list and I watched episode 13 for the third or fourth time and I got to thinking about it... and well look at me as well. XD
From:
no subject
And man, I hear yah on the Hawkeye/Havoc. >_>
And man, I hear yah on the Hawkeye/Havoc. >_> <_< Though most of my problem in finding it is that a lot of the J-art I HAVE found doesn't ping me as terribly in-character for Hawkeye; 'cos if Ed's not the blushing retiring sort, neither is Hawkeye. >________> But hell, I'd love a union or webring to pick through~ if you find one, please share! ♥
Now, see, if I were totally taken by J-art, I'd be more of a Havoc/Roy fan, like my roommate is. As I've already told you, though, that just doesn't ping anything for me. o_o And yeah, sometimes I think it should, but--eh. To each their own, says I. XD (... now, someone please make a Winry/Al union or webring too, so I can go through THAT, 'cos that's what I want most out of J-fen right now. And while I'm at, please buy me a pony, or something. [laughs])
From:
no subject
anyone who takes personal offense at any disagreement over a fan belief tends to worry me...some people seem to forget fanning is supposed to be for fun?
...in other news, Kyou/Yuki/Tohru OT3, only way to go. She deserves both of them dangit!! <3 <3 <3
From:
no subject
That's the sad thing, people DO forget that fandom is supposed to be fun. Which is why places like fandom_wank exist, I suppose. :D;;;;;;
(Hahahahaha, OT3 YES. >3 Tohru deserves everything they both can give her♥♥♥♥ [/bias])
From:
no subject
I liked Winly/Al first, too actually XD;;; I was very against Roy/Ed to start out with. o____O But I got into it before the anime came out... mostly because I checked out j-art BEFORE I EVEN SAW ROY and I keep seeing this guy with Ed and I'm all "...I don't know who he is, but I think I'm becoming a fan o___o" And...mind, the artist made him look younger, so I didn't know he was AN OYAJI-SAN YO~~
...and then I saw Roy, and I blinked and I go "what. what. that's it? this is what the fangirls are crazy over?"
......................and then I started analyzing. and Roy is a sexy shit-eating smirking bastard. I don't know how you can connect that to me going HAHAHAHA ROY/ED SEXUALLY ABUSE FURNITURE really.
(and hahaha, is this caused by that one post Amemechan linked? BECAUSE THAT IS PURE GOLD HAHAHAHAHA)
From:
no subject
Nah, I remember telling you I was pinging off Winry/Al and you wholeheartedly agreeing with me, and I know for a fact that we were both sort of "........." at the idea of ero!Ed in the first place. (Not as violently as Sakkimephi, but still ... >_>)
So, yeah. :D;; Fandom's supposed to be a place with live-and-let-live, isn't it? So, honestly, why are people wasting so much time and energy shrieking about it? For that matter, why am *I* wasting energy snarking about it? I HAVE A FINAL IN FOUR DAYS OMG. XD
--I still think, that when I'm sick, my brain makes drugs naturally. u_u
From:
no subject
The fact that you're making a hobby of hunting down ura pages now is a great amusement to myself <3333
....what's freaky is, I used the "live and let live" line a little earlier too. OMFG STOP BEING TELEPATHIC <33333 And *I* sure as hell isn't shrieking about it. I'm laughing my ass off over it, and snarking sarcastic replies now and then >DDDD
and You need to conserbve your energy for finals AND GETTING BETTER (and omg you need to go to bed earlier still >_> <_< You shouldn't be developing my sleeping habits <333)
From:
no subject
....what's freaky is, I used the "live and let live" line a little earlier too. OMFG STOP BEING TELEPATHIC <33333 And *I* sure as hell isn't shrieking about it. I'm laughing my ass off over it, and snarking sarcastic replies now and then >DDDD
Hahahaha, you should exepect that from your other brain by now♥ And if you're having fun, I guess go for it, 'cos for maybe once in my entire bloody life, I see eye-to-eye with you on wank? Though with me, it's more of a "shaking my head and wondering WTF are people getting so up in arms about pairings about?" rather than snarking at the sheer amount of SPLOOGE that's being produced. :D;;
I AM getting better! I think~ >_> I mean, I only started feeling close to dying during the last fifteen minutes of lecture today, rather than the middle of class. :D;; And now I have tea, so all the better! ♥
From:
no subject
....omg. You actually APPROVE OF ME WANKING THIS TIME AROUND? *______________________________________*
Excuse me. I want to laugh and point fingers and be a 5 year old devilspawn again >DDDD ♥♥♥♥♥♥♥
Not. I promise. I still have SOME tact. Maybe >D
Well, the shaking head sensation will always be there. But when you're at a distant? and you pretend it's like one of those talk shows on daytime tv? ...come on, how can you NOT laugh at the wankery? (mm splooge >D so bitter, so salty *SHOT*)
.....as long as you're alright dear T_T (at least you're still telepathic, so I know you're brain isn't goo yet ♥♥♥)
From:
no subject
Oh my god, I'M NOT THE ONLY ONE WHO DOES THIS? YAAAAAAAY! Of course, I'm horrible at figuring out WHAT THE HELL THEY WANT FROM ME (given that I speak, like, only fangirl Japanese), but I get a special high when I can figure it out. (The under pages union has been my frieeeeeend. Not so much the FMA under pages webring, though. *huffs*) So glad I'm not alone in this. ♥ XD;;;
From:
no subject
Hooray for pervy J-fen that make their ura sites easy to find. .......... I can't believe I just said that. XD;;;;
From:
no subject
Or maybe I'm just avoiding the guilt! OMG, maybe that's why I went and drew Winry/Ed today! To appease the ANGRY GODS OF HET! _O_
(My, somebody's feeling snarktastic today.)
From:
no subject
WANKWANKWANK WANKITYWANKWANK OH MY GOD THIS IS /GOLD/
From:
no subject
...actually, looking over the various posts mentioned on fandomwank...am I the only Al/Winry fan who isn't into Roy/Ed? as a gen/het FMA fen, am a bit ticked by the insinuation that 'true' het fans should all be ga-ga Ed/Winry. 'specially since I know most of y'all who are with me with the A/W are not in for it just 'cuz you want Ed safely het-free...
wow, now I'm getting offended over pairing wars. the wank is contagious..!
From:
no subject
Seriously, as I said before--I was a Winry/Al fan LONG before I even considered the idea of Roy/Ed, and certainly a long time before I went HAHAHA SAIKOU at the idea. *snrk* For me, Winry/Al came from the genuine desire to see her with Al BECAUSE OF AL, because Winry is so much like Ed that I think they've got the perfect dynamic for it. I *like* Winry/Ed well enough at times--but in the end? LET THE SIDEKICK HAVE THE GIRL FOR ONCE, DAMNIT. >:EEEEE Because in the end, I don't see Ed settling down, but I DO see Al as the sort of guy who'd want a family and kids, and Winry would want a decent apprentice SOMEHOW, right? [laughs]
Wank IS contagious. :O That's why it usually scares me. :D;;;;; I'm not so brave as Chirachirarara or Sakkimephi, here. XD;;
From:
no subject
It's always in the generalities that we get bogged down and the real wank begins. So sayeth the wimp who'll remain otherwise out of the debate if she can help it. ;;;;;;;;;; The fandom_wank was amusing, but sheesh--it makes it embarrassing to admit being an FMA fan, let alone someone who still sometimes skims/posts at the supposedly general comm. XD;;;;;;
(And your Winry/Ed was CUTE. :O I'm easy, damnit, I like both. XD)