Okay, so watching the Resident Evil movie (for the first time ever last night, haha, I'm slow) and THEN pretty much tearing through Syne Mitchell's The Changling Plague in a day (no kidding; I picked it up this morning for the first time and am now already something like 200 pages into it >_>) aren't exactly the most fun of combinations when one is about to go work on a lab. 8D
On the other hand, I liked the movie -- I've heard so many mixed results, and I don't know if that's because most of the people I talked to aren't fans of "zombie" movies, or just that they were embittered fans of the game? Not really knowing the game, I liked it, though I have to confess that the first part -- where all the people were dying, really ooged me, more than the actual zombies and violence did. >_> Especially the, uh. Decapitation via elevator. :p It sort of actually played on all my own vague paranoias/fear about working in a lab, especially now that I'm spending so much time in the Health Sciencies building and I walk by open labs all the time. |D
(My biggest problems with movies like that is I have a low squick factor when it comes to VISUAL things -- I can't stand the sight of someone else's blood in live-action movies, what the hell. But for me, it's not the reading things or the seeing things that really bother me -- it's hearing them. If I can hear the people in the movie screaming and crying out for help, it really squicks me. >_>)
There were some really nice things they did visually, though the one "monster" was really sort of. Um. It felt sort of like the movie dated itself, because the CG was really well-done, but so ... obviously CG, in some undefinable way.I also had issues with the way they HANDLED a lot of the character-deaths, but that might just be my own inner would-be director complaining.
And then I turned around and started reading The Changling Plague, which is totally all kinds of awesome and I would highly recommend it to anyone who likes a sort of sci-fi/medical not-quite-horror story. It made the small chem geek in me awfully happy, and all of the specific DNA-related stuff she actually explains in the narrative, so no one really gets "left out" of the story.
... also, the author is a really nice lady and people should support her stuff coff.
I mean, to me, "horror" is not so much about ghosts and evil magic or zombies -- it's about stuff that has its grains in reality. Resident Evil is not scary because of the zombies, but because of the very vague plausibility of the virus.
I mean, not that I think a virus that makes people into zombies is going to suddenly sweep the nation, but a sort of -- well. I guess as a Biochemistry student, the idea of a genetically-altered disease is creepiest of all. >_>
Now that I have rambled, though, I am going to do my HOMEWORK. Haha.
On the other hand, I liked the movie -- I've heard so many mixed results, and I don't know if that's because most of the people I talked to aren't fans of "zombie" movies, or just that they were embittered fans of the game? Not really knowing the game, I liked it, though I have to confess that the first part -- where all the people were dying, really ooged me, more than the actual zombies and violence did. >_> Especially the, uh. Decapitation via elevator. :p It sort of actually played on all my own vague paranoias/fear about working in a lab, especially now that I'm spending so much time in the Health Sciencies building and I walk by open labs all the time. |D
(My biggest problems with movies like that is I have a low squick factor when it comes to VISUAL things -- I can't stand the sight of someone else's blood in live-action movies, what the hell. But for me, it's not the reading things or the seeing things that really bother me -- it's hearing them. If I can hear the people in the movie screaming and crying out for help, it really squicks me. >_>)
There were some really nice things they did visually, though the one "monster" was really sort of. Um. It felt sort of like the movie dated itself, because the CG was really well-done, but so ... obviously CG, in some undefinable way.
And then I turned around and started reading The Changling Plague, which is totally all kinds of awesome and I would highly recommend it to anyone who likes a sort of sci-fi/medical not-quite-horror story. It made the small chem geek in me awfully happy, and all of the specific DNA-related stuff she actually explains in the narrative, so no one really gets "left out" of the story.
... also, the author is a really nice lady and people should support her stuff coff.
I mean, to me, "horror" is not so much about ghosts and evil magic or zombies -- it's about stuff that has its grains in reality. Resident Evil is not scary because of the zombies, but because of the very vague plausibility of the virus.
I mean, not that I think a virus that makes people into zombies is going to suddenly sweep the nation, but a sort of -- well. I guess as a Biochemistry student, the idea of a genetically-altered disease is creepiest of all. >_>
Now that I have rambled, though, I am going to do my HOMEWORK. Haha.
From:
no subject
From:
no subject
(I peeked ONCE. And. Um. I kind of regretted it because when I tried to go to bed my mind kept flashing back and extrapolating about the wet squishy noises that came after I hid my face again. >_>)
From:
no subject
I liked the movie too and I agree with your idea that a genetically-altered disease crowns all things creepy.
/random reader
From:
no subject
Swear to jeebus, though, there are parts of the hallways that look like something from a survival horror game. Some of the dorms are like that, too; when I was in McMahon, we used to joke that they could film part of the Silent Hill movie there.
Genetically-altered diseases are the scariest thing known to man. Or a tired science student. >_>
From:
no subject
From:
no subject
AND I'VE DONE THE THANKSGIVING THING, TOO. Oh god, I was shocked at how empty the dorms suddenly were, when I was used to them being so noisy and crowded. (I lived in McMahon, so I was used to the cluster setting.) I totally kept all doors locked ALL THE TIME, even when I was in the room, during that weekend. D:
... oh. Oh my god. D: Okay, okay, so that would come as a very close second, because that could lead to a disease that does bad things to your genetics. D:
From:
no subject
Ahaha, you had to experience Thanksgiving alone in the dorms too? I don't know what UW dorms are like, but the UCSD dorm I was in was old and ugly and the doors were so flimsy I didn't trust the lock...what made it worse was I didn't know whether to leave the lights on at night or turn them off because... single light on in an entire DARK dorm building just... okay, I need to back away from the scary path of remembered insanity.
From:
no subject
Oh, I did -- I'm an out-of-state student, so it's not really practical for me to go home just for four days, so ... yeaaaaah. My dorm looked like a parking garage, and it was all metal and tile and concrete, so really not the sort of warm welcoming place you'd hope for in a home away from home. >_> When the cleaning lady came back the last day before break was over, she nearly gave me a heart attack.
I would, but ... my prof keeps saying "we'll talk about it when we get to cancer! :D :D :D" about everything. Ahahaha. D:
From:
no subject
I'm an out of the country student so it's impractical for me to go home too LOL And I have yet to find/see a
labdorm which isn't metal and tile and concrete & is the kind of place you hope for a home away from home...From:
no subject
and blindingly hot and frighteningly conservativeTexas, the Pacific NW is a wonderful and glorious place. |DThere is ONE dorm on campus that sort of gives the impression of a nice home-y type place, but it's also a singles-only house (though I think there are exceptions for married couples in one of the wings?) and has mandatory 24-hour quiet time and is also something like 10x more expensive than the other dorms. So I moved out and am living with friends in a houseshare, haha!
There really isn't -- it's like on some sadistic baseline level, the profs are all thinking .oO(Hey, we had to go through it, so now YOU DO TOO.)
Those were innocent and long-ago times for me, too. D:From:
no subject
having come from a place that was blisteringly hot and hot and, uh, did I mention hot?Why is it that undergrad dorms are for singles but grad housing's for couples? *scoffs the person who doesn't play well with others under the same room*
From:
no subject
But the constant rain is a bit of a downer.And I dunno what's up with the dorm thing -- the "couples housing" is really NICE, and dude, you're stuck living with at least one other person for the duration, you might as well get used to it! (unless you're unfortunate to get a roommate from hell -- I was lucky enough to avoid that, but I have heard the horror stories. >_>)
I was talking about this with a friend who works in a cancer research lab today. She mentioned how it sometimes surprises her that she's not already ill from SOMETHING or other -- because man, if the chemicals don't kill us, our potential hypochorndirac paranoia will. XD And for the record, I am so damn glad they don't make us mix our own ethidium bromide. D: After the TA spent nearly half an hour lecturing us on the dangers, I was starting to think that maybe crawling under my desk and pretending to be deathly ill already might help. >_>
From:
no subject
(unless you're unfortunate to get a roommate from hell -- I was lucky enough to avoid that, but I have heard the horror stories. >_>)
Oh, I can tell you a
truehorror story about that.From:
no subject
Oh, hey, roommate gossip. XD I'm almost afraid, but I'm still morbidly curious. XD
Man, I know -- I think all bioscience students end up with some degree of hypochondria by the time they finish their degrees, because good LORD, it's like all your classes conspire to make you terrified. ... and you know, part of that has driven me to start buying more organic/free-range type food, so at least I have a better idea of what exactly's going into what I eat. >_> Because man, it's scary to consider. D: D: D:
From:
no subject
*tilts head to side* Heh. It's not so much roomate gossip but more of me going through the roof because 2 of my house mates were so filthy the kitchen got infested with cockroaches within 1 month flat and the 3rd house mate couldn't be arsed to care. That's pure psychological & physical torture. The sight of cockroaches makes me channel a hysterical jumping bean in the worst possible way.
Right there with you on the organic/free-range type food. And watching 'Supersize Me' put me off junk food and fastfood forever. And? I think bioscience students are divided into 2 camps - those that don't give a rat's ass about chemicals and microbes and whathaveyou, and those *read: ME* that are reduced to a shivering wreck of a doomsayer with each passing year spent in school, because my friends think I'm crazy for being a hypochondriac >_>
From:
no subject
... oh, ew, ew, Ew. >_> Cockroaches don't really twig me that much in terms of fear, but I think they're absolutely disgusting. And then they just don't die and that's even worse. D: I would've had the landlord out there a.s.a.p. if that sort of thing happened here -- but thankfully it won't, because my housemates are pretty good about keeping the kitchen neat.
I still have a few concessions to junk food -- but not so much McDonalds or Burger King, but the local hamburger joints around here. (The Rusty Pelican Cafe is my love.) Otherwise, I've turned into this whole BETTER FOODS RAWR nut. >_> ... and yeah, it does seem to turn out that way, doesn't it? Either you're uber-paranoid or you just stop caring because EVERYTHING is going to kill you, so you might as well not worry. XD; My non-sciences friends might scoff, but it's LIKE SERIOUS BIZNEZ. D:
From:
no subject
You know, you're not supposed to step on a cockroach to kill it cos' you run the risk of getting its eggs on your shoe, then you'll be in danger of actually breeding those...things o_O My landlord was on the other side of the continent at that time so I found somebody to take over my lease and bailed out of there.
Where is Rusty Pelican Cafe? Is it on the Ave? I've never heard of it... o_O I <3 Shaultzy's (sp?) though. They had good food ;__;
So, are you on the uber-paranoid side or the uber-to hell with that side? I think I'm uber-paranoid by default, but there are days apparently when I am little Miss Self-Destruction and I pretty much don't care what falls on me in the lab.
From:
no subject
I think zombie movies are scary because it's a lot closer to home. Zombie/virus/disease is a lot more believeable than other monsters, it's a matter of science(kinda of) vs. fairy tales. Besides CG monsters just aren't nearly as scary, you see one you see them all.
From:
no subject
I mean, I tried to explain to other housemates why, on a lot of levels, I think Resident Evil might be scarier than Silent Hill -- which comes from an obviously "magical" or supernatural basis; the stuff in Resident Evil, while removed from reality, isn't completely out of the realm of possibility.
Also, I have this minor elevator phobia, so that whole scene at the beginning of the movie wigged me out. [wryyyyyyy]
From:
no subject
The second movie while not as good as the first one is still alot of fun. Plus it's got Carlos and the other Mercs from the thrid game in it which is never a bad thing.
From:
no subject
I'm HOPING my housemate will have time to watch the second one over the weekend. :3 Why not, I'll just make this a "let's scare the crap outta myself!" weekend, it'll be fun. XD
From:
no subject
Im going to see Silent Hill today so I'll probally be creeping myself out as well.
From:
no subject
I'm actually gonna see Silent Hill tomorrow♥ My friends and I are making an EXPEDITION out of it, in broad daylight to minimizie heebie-jeebies. XD
From:
no subject
It's definitly the best film made from a video game and the best thing is that you don't need to know anything about the games to see it's a damn fine horror film in it's own right.
From:
no subject
Is it bad that I'm hoping for a sequel? D:
From:
no subject