nekokoban: (squee for MANIC GLEE)
([personal profile] nekokoban Aug. 5th, 2006 04:16 pm)
So today I met [livejournal.com profile] sjen for lunch, and THEN we went to Kinos because tactics volume 8 had finally come for me ... ! ♥

Also, D.Gray-man 8. I am horribly tempted to make some sort of pun about greatness, but will refrain. For now.

FIVE-POINT NON-SPOILER SUMMARIES BEFORE I LAUNCH INTO BLATHER:

tactics
1. Wow, Raikou. You really are crazy. Your entire family is messed up.
2. HaruKan OTP canon much?
3. Thus the sidestories that started running during Kinoshita's illness start! Nooooo. T_T
4. On the other hand, the sidestories are kind of neat, too; each one focuses on a different youkai.
5. I would scan the entire damn book if I didn't go D: at the idea of breaking its spine.

D.Gray-man (which I will not blather on about, because really, most of it would be OMG RINALI YOU RULE THE WORLD)
1. Rinali, you are something like 1000000x hotter now. Srsly.
2. What the HELL is up with the cover? I mean, they don't show up in this volume. Hell, Allen barely shows up in this volume.
3. (2) is not as much of a problem as you'd think, because of Rinali's ultimate and awesome coolness. And hotness. IT WORKS.
4. General Cross, why are there chickens around your feet, and how do you pull off looking that awesome even so? T_T
5. Did I mention Rinali? I love a heroine who kicks more ass than all the heroes combined.

AND NOW ON TO THE BLATHER!

+++

RIGHT SO. TACTICS. NEVER EVER LEAVE ME. EVEN IF I FIC FOR OTHER THINGS, I WILL ALWAYS LOVE YOU. ♥

I love how Kantarou always has a backup plan, even if he seems like he's just running into something haphazardly; when the HELL did he get the time to hide an ofuda under his tongue? Also, how was he able to talk without making someone suspicious that he had something in his mouth? (Not that I think Sakata is the most observant of people; he hero-worships Raikou, of all people.) Also, points for resourcefulness -- Sakata points out that he doesn't really have the strength to USE a sword, but good on him for grabbing it before he suffered stabbydeath.

All right, so. Kantarou. WHAT THE HELL IS UP WITH THE MOTHER-THING. Raikou offers to "let" (though this makes more sense later, his giving the permission) the nue (a chimerical type of youkai, famous in folklore) of the village -- who is named and has the ability to summon the souls of the dead and place them in dolls -- to revive Kantarou's mother. Literally, the exchange goes:

頼光: この村の鵺の力見たんでしょ?
大好きなお母様にまた逢えるよー
ねェ一宮先生...

勘太郎: あのね
ボクがあの人の墓に行くのは甦らないように見張ってるんだよ。
あの女はムカツクから
死んでてくれないと困るんだよねェー

(Essentially, in rough translation:

Raikou: You've seen the power of this village's nue?
You could see your beloved mother again--
Isn't that right, Ichinomiya-sensei ...

Kantarou: You know
I've gone to that person's grave to make sure she isn't revived.
That woman was troublesome, so
if she weren't dead, it would be troublesome.)

I MEAN OKAY WHAT. Sakata is shocked ("he'd say that about his own mother?") and Raikou is obviously taken aback; it seems like they were banking on Kantarou loving his mother -- but there doesn't seem to be anything lost there. Hm.

There's a lot of fighting that is all very dramatic and cool (and kind of funny, since Raikou is squaring off verbally against Kantarou while Haruka and Sakata fight in the background, and occasionally Raikou has to stop and toss a spell and scold Sakata for losing), but we start seeing a lot more of Raikou's unique psychosis -- he's very cheerful about the whole killing youkai thing. He claims it's out of the same love that has driven Kantarou to try and protect them; I can't quite find the line now, but it seems to be more of ... not so much a "I love you so I'll kill you," kind of thing; it's very much like a kid with a favorite toy that's literally loved to death. Youkai are like toys to Raikou, and he plays with them hard before they break and he discards them and moves on to the next shiny one. They get beaten back, though, and while Kantarou and Haruka are debating on what to DO with them, Raikou's all :DDDDD I HAVE A GREAT IDEA.

"Oh, speaking of which, Onikui, you've heard the story from Tsugumi, right? [about how having a name will eventually weaken and sicken a youkai] Why don't you ask Ichinomiya-sensei to break it?"

--which leads to a love confession one of the cutest OTP scenes I've seen, where Haruka basically smiles and says, you know, Kantarou is my master, and until the day he breaks the contract of his own free will, he will always be my master.

Raikou points out that he'll be weakened and start losing his powers; Haruka says that the people he's with now appreciate the fact he doesn't eat oni. And really, he's okay with things as they are.

Which leads to a set of panels in which we never see Kantarou's face, only his hand:

"Haruka? What are you saying ..." [hand lifts]
"You and I are friends. Isn't that right?"
"... that's right. We're friends." [hand lowers, fingers clench]

OKAY WHAT. WHAT WHAT WHAT HAVE I MENTIONED OTP LATELY I am such a stupid fangirl XD

But then Raikou breaks free! And Tsugumi appears, badly injured and very weak, in which we find out that her name -- whether the current one or not -- belongs to Raikou. He's the master who set her up to try and encourage Kantarou and Haruka into breaking their name-bond, but very obviously, she's failed in that. And -- interestingly -- there's a bit where Raikou mentions that her original master was Minamoto Yorimitsu, whom she betrayed, and then a deliberately closeup on Haruka's face as there's a mention about how youkai shouldn't have two names.

(I SO CALLED IT. TWO NAMES AND ONE FROM THAT CRAZY FUJI-LADY.)

Tsugumi, poor thing, tries to break free -- she calls down something that attacks Raikou and Sakata; Haruka ends up having to carry Kantarou out of danger, and when they touch down again, we can see half of Raikou's profile, with Tsugumi cradled in his lap. And when we see the whole scene, we can see that he's got her sword through her chest and there's this bloody pearl on his tongue -- the youkai's "gyoku," they call it, the pearl/heart which is the source of a youkai's power. (Raikou mentions, in an earlier volume, that what the Oni-Eater preferred first was the "heart" of an oni, THEN its flesh.) Presumably, eating one confers its original owner's powers onto you.

... Raikou eats it.

SO PRESUMABLY HE CAN SUMMON DEAD SPIRITS NOW HOSHIT. He's totally going to pull Fuji's spirit out of the cat she's currently possessing and stick it into Ayame instead. Oh man. [rolls around]

But with this, he and Haruka spar again; Raikou is very smug, telling Haruka "I want to see your 'gyoku' soon--" [with the implication he wants to eat that, too? ogod what] and Haruka forgoes using the shakujou and ends up taking a chunk out of Raikou's side with his talons. And Raikou, being upset by that, kind of staggers back up, yelling about how Haruka shouldn't lose his INSTINCTS NOW SHOULD HE?? and attacks--

At which point Watanabe shows up, punches Raikou in the stomach, and apologizes, because it's his duty to make sure that Raikou doesn't, er, overdo it -- and then they leave. (Watanabe, the dutiful servant? To a master who isn't all there, whoops.)

The story ends cutely enough, with Kantarou and Haruka having a fistfight to "make up" for their argument earlier (Youko's fault, there; she tells Kantarou in the previous volume that they'll be okay, they just need to punch each other and work it out, that' swhat guys do!

"But Youko-chan, if I fight with Haruka I might die ..."
"Suck it up and apologize before you die, then!")

and afterwards, as they're lying bruised on the porch and tired, Haruka says that when they get home, there's something he wants to tell Kantarou, about his previous master. Which, thinking back, is the FIRST time that Haruka has ever acknowledged that he ever had one; Watanabe had brought it up before, and Haruka dismisses it, by saying "that woman is dead."

BUT THAT IS WHEN KINOSHITA GOT SICK AND WE WENT TO OTHER FILLER. WHYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY.

--and in short, I am reminded once again that it's really kind of suck to be in a fandom where the comm is mostly-dead and everyone else either a) moved on or b) never cared for the series much in the first place. XD;

BUT I HAVE VOLUME 8 SO FOR NOW, EVERYTHING IS JUST DAMN SHINY♥

From: [identity profile] ayabai.livejournal.com


i am still divided abt rinali's new hair, about whether it is Hottt or Nottt.

From: [identity profile] ayabai.livejournal.com


the new hair is cute but the old hair was all hottt and swirly when she did those crazyass jumps ;____; true tho, rinali is in and of herself hottt, and now that her hair is cut i can cosplay her more easily XDDDDD
i was all T_T when certain peoples sacrificed themselves T______T

From: [identity profile] woodburner.livejournal.com


GODDAMNIT KINOSHITA GET BETTER ALREADY

akldjfalskjf o;ewif ;waefnh

From: [identity profile] infected-wound.livejournal.com


OMG! OTP! OTP!

*DIES* XDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDD.

Yeah. XDDDDD

From: [identity profile] infected-wound.livejournal.com


Unless, for sure, we know they couldn't possibly be brothers..... I think. LOL XDDDDDDD

*sniffles* I want volume 8 soon D:!!

From: [identity profile] ayabai.livejournal.com


lol thats kinda why i stopped reading GB.. well that and i got bored of too MUCH shounen fighting with ridiculously overdown battles and ridiculously named battle moves lol.
also, working in japanese high schools and observing the normal behaviour of high school boys (they sit on each others laps, have their arms all over each others shoulders, massage each others arms, etc etc) pretty much convinced me that the two arent gay @_@ i gotta make a long lj post about how seeing the cultural setting in which gb is set and its implications for b&gs relationship made me not rly ship them anymore XD;;; also made me realize why the bxg fandom in japan isnt that big, but the kazuki/juubei and ginji/akabane ones are out the roof...

From: [identity profile] infected-wound.livejournal.com


*reads your message and squeals* I'm remembering my Chinese classmates now. But they also make jokes about being gay and dryhump in public so.... :d

From: [identity profile] infected-wound.livejournal.com


....The Japanese are weird. They seemed... fascinated by incestual relationships. While browsing through a chinese scanlations site with loooots of manga scans and all, I actually found something with a title that read "Sweet Secret Incestual Relationship" T_T;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;

*_* Kan-chan! Kan-chan! KAN-CHAN! ZOMG! KAN-CHAN IS LIKE SHERLOCK HOLMES! XDDDDDDD

Kan: "I HID AN OFUDA UNDER MY TONGUE!"

Haruka: "O_o ZOMG! HOW'D YOU DO THAT?!!"

Kan: ":D ELEMENTARY, MY DEAR ONIKUI! ELEMENTARY :D!"

XDDDDDDDD

From: [identity profile] infected-wound.livejournal.com


*sniffles* I can still dream D:!!!!! D:!!!!!

*likes inserting Kan and Haruka in different charas' shoes* Like like... that time I watched Constantine and thought of John as either Kantarou or Harukaa~

But of course, I'm insane ._.;

From: [identity profile] infected-wound.livejournal.com


But it's fun! It's like seeing them... cosplay, at least! :3 XD Imagining them cosplaying is... fun....

*suddenly has an image of Trainer!Kantarou with Pokemon!Haruka and Youko*

*GIGGLES* :3

;3; Aren't you going to write more HaruKan loviiing???? D:

From: [identity profile] sjen.livejournal.com


It's 'cause there's no anime to actively follow weekly. ^^;;; Nor chapters, not that I know where to get them. So really, only when a new tank comes out do I be glee (BTW, vol.8 is awesome--Raikou is a fucking nutball!). But it's like that with all my faves, including PAPUWA and Bastard.

From: [identity profile] dyxlisa.livejournal.com


Rinali has become like, my favorite heroine ever~~ She's kickass, cool, cute, hot, and sweet, and still manages to be a very feminine character. Her whole 'I care more about my friends than the world, aren't I selfish' really appealed to me on an emotional level too. I'm loving all the characters more and more actually~ The group without Allen was really starting to grow on me, and Anita and co made me sooo wahh. ;_; In any case, somehow it's the female characters in D.Grayman that mostly stand out to me, which is really unusual~ I love Miranda a lot too, more than I thought I ever could when she was first introduced. Yay awesome female characters in a shounen manga!! *__*

From: [identity profile] inarticulate.livejournal.com


And I should say that I'm still slowly working through tactics and JUST PICKED UP VOLUME 8 YESTERDAY homg. ♥ Am not reading this entry yet except for the stuff at the top but. 8D I AM LOOKING FORWARD TO IT.

...Also, why is this the only tactics icon I have.
.

Most Popular Tags

Powered by Dreamwidth Studios

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags