At work, we use this ticket system, right? Any time someone does something with the issue in question, we timestamp it, which is firstname, lastname, date-time. This is, in fact, the major way that my team communicates with the rest of the company -- though we use phones, and if you call someone, the in-system caller ID will display firstname-lastname.
So, uh.
How does this one guy keep spelling my name wrong -- not one way, but three different ways in a single ticket during back-and-forth communication, and continues to spell my name wrong with my timestamp right there? D: I sometimes end up completely skimming over something addressed to me, because that's not really my name I'm seeing there.
It's like being in elementary school again, in a way. They had a policy where you had to get an excused absence slip from the office to give to your teachers the day after you were sick, and I always had to stand like this mini not-a-hawk-maybe-a-dodo-bird? and in that annoying childish way, insist that NO, NO MY NAME IS SPELLED T-E-R-R-A NOT T-A-R-A D:
Curse you, alternate-and-more-widespread spelling! [fistshake]
So, uh.
How does this one guy keep spelling my name wrong -- not one way, but three different ways in a single ticket during back-and-forth communication, and continues to spell my name wrong with my timestamp right there? D: I sometimes end up completely skimming over something addressed to me, because that's not really my name I'm seeing there.
It's like being in elementary school again, in a way. They had a policy where you had to get an excused absence slip from the office to give to your teachers the day after you were sick, and I always had to stand like this mini not-a-hawk-maybe-a-dodo-bird? and in that annoying childish way, insist that NO, NO MY NAME IS SPELLED T-E-R-R-A NOT T-A-R-A D:
Curse you, alternate-and-more-widespread spelling! [fistshake]
Tags:
From:
no subject
Yeah, I've never gotten how the brain works in that they see the word (or in this case, name) spelled correctly (sometimes repeatedly) and yet still spell it wrong. Not even typos, but just completely wrong.
*hugs*
From:
no subject
People never spell my name right. Never have, probably never will.
What I find bizarre is when I've emailed a dealer, my name is in the signature, and they call me Laura, or Nora, or somesuch. *boggle*
From:
no subject
From:
no subject
My worst was in first grade, I was in the same class as two girls: one that had my first name (as "Tara") and one that had my last name. SO CONFUSING. :(
From:
no subject
my name gets varied a lot between Meggie and Maggie, it's kind of gotten to the point where, if asked which I prefer, I just generally go with "I don't care" >->;
I once had a girl follow me all the way down the hall at school going "Megan? Megan! Megan! Megan! Megan!" with me just walking along in front of her, completely unawares. How was I supposed to know she was trying to talk to me? ^^
From:
no subject
... I actually have the opposite thing with you -- since Jen and Kendra are currently working their way through Buffy, and are in season five, I walk in on a lot of fandom discussions midway, so all I hear is "blahblahblah Tara" and get confused. D:
O names. They are so convinient, and yet so burdensome at times. XD
From:
no subject
From:
no subject
what i really wanted to comment on was your "running out". i cried a little bit where haruka and kantarou were arguing about his mortality. and why haruka couldn't just understand the concept of time. or well, a human's time that is. and i've yet to finish reading it, because i wanted to say something about how well you had grasped that concept, and conveyed it so well in that scene. it just breaks your heart. it's the one thing kantarou really, can't run away from and haruka is in denial of the whole thing.
and now i'm going to go finish reading it XD
From:
no subject
--as for myself, though, I have this huge weakness for the immortal/mortal pairing, and the inevitability of the end (though I like them to be happy beforehand, damnit!), and the implications throughout that. XD;
Glad you're enjoying it, though! ♥