The desire to write longfic TOTALLY NOT IN ANY OF THE FANDOMS I HAVE CHALLENGES FOR: A++++++ double-check yes!
...
So yesterday I had lunch with my cousin (which is really weird when I think about it, because while a lot of my friends have family in the area, I ... really don't; they're in Texas, Connecticut, and LA). She's very nice, despite being ~five years older than me and us having little to nothing in common but blood (I am the second-youngest in my family on both sides, and C is actually closer to me in age than most, as the majority of them are ... in their late thirties by now? yikes), though conversation was a bit peculiar. I mean, it's weird to say "I visited S and her kids" and know that not only does C know them, C is ALSO related to them.
... this is a novelty to me, okay. :p
But then she hopped a train to Portland and I went shopping; I got my groceries for the week and the first eight volumes of Tsubasa (which I'd been borrowing from a friend in their uber-shiny hardback with full color and other goodies version -- I just got the regular-sized tankoban), then spent the evening rereading them.
TYING THIS BACK TO LUNCH WITH MY COUSIN, I -- um. I wondered.
What do non-fandom people (the mainstream people, the ones who look askance at you when you say you play video games, who have these strained smiles and ask "oh, like kid's books?" when you say you like comics, who think that you're actually using a secret code word for porn when you say you're into anime/manga -- and I could make a joke here about fandom but I'll leave it) DO for fun?
No seriously.
As far back as I can remember, I've always been geeking on some aspect of fandom (and oh, the Mary Sues that never left the safety of my head!), even before I discovered the internet. If you look at the disaster zone that's my room, it's all either a) old school-related stuff or b) FANDOM.
Whiiiiiich may actually be construed as kind of lame, but I keep myself entertained!
I just sort of wondered "how DOES the other side keep themselves from being bored?" and.
Also it's Sunday and my roommates are out/at work/not HERE so I'm just left with a cat for company, which is good for harrassing, but not so much for hashing things out.
P.S. Cockvore exists in this world. And by that I do not mean that the cock gets eaten, but that the COCK EATS YOU (soviet cock?).
O FANDOM NEVER STOP BEING ENTERTAINING, EVEN IN HORRIBLE WAYS.
From:
no subject
As far as I can tell, they go out and dance at clubs, and they play or watch sports, and they drink. I. I can't really see as how this is all that entertaining. Maybe that just means I'm a huge geek, but. o.O
I don't even know what the people who consider themselves too old for clubs do. Play board games maybe? Uh. My dad likes to go fishing!
From:
no subject
Her dad and the guide talked about sports, though!
I went to a Mariners baseball game once and had to fight not to fall asleep. D:
From:
no subject
It's so foreign. ._.
From:
no subject
... and see, I think of makeup as a geeky thing, because my roommate has daydreams of being a makeup artist and when we watch stuff like Angel, she'll be like I WANT TO DO THAT MONSTER'S MAKEUP DDDDD: at the rest of us.
It just. Seems so boring. DDDDDDDDD: I'm this bored, but I HAVE stuff to entertain myself with! ... mainstream folks don't? ._.
From:
no subject
I think the OC's a TV show! It may be about teens. I'm not sure. And yeah, I think of it as a fandom too! But the scary thing is. The people in the fandom? ...often don't.
I don't get it, Terra D:
...Makeup is an awesome geeky thing yes. XD
It SOUNDS boring, doesn't it? I like my addictions. ._.
From:
no subject
I just ... have a hard time NOT thinking of TV shows in context of fandom, simply because I do participate in online fandoms, and I see stuff getting flung around about -- I mean, hell, my roommates are major into Angel and Buffy and Firefly, that's TV! (Maybe The OC is a soap opera? I don't really see a lot of "fandom" activity for soap operas.)
I like my addictions too! What else would I do with my free time! D:
From:
no subject
I know, I'm the same way. I feel like even if someone doesn'tproduce or read fanworks, if they're 'into' a show and watch it voraciously, they're engaging in fandom! (It might be! Uh. [googles] Aha! American teen drama series, according to wiki.)
Nap maybe. B-but fandom is better than sleep! [<-- may be sleepy]
From:
no subject
I -- I can get why someone might watch something and not want to extrapolate it, in an objective sort of way, but at the same time, I can't wrap my head around NOT doing it; it's like -- I see something fictional! but what happens next? is my immediate response. Or maybe what's going on in the meantime? but.
I can't nap unless I'm sick. D: Or deadly tired, which I am so incredibly not right now. .__________.
From:
no subject
I know, and it's like, sometimes 'non-fandom' fan things are so crazy it can only be real fandom. Like so.
Yeah, I have trouble napping, but it's soooo hot and sunlighty...
From:
no subject
... sports fans are ... interesting. Like, in a super-scary way. I read that article, and it was like "they're five year olds! --wait" because yeah, that is how fandom is, isn't it.
It's cold here. D: Sunlight, but COLD, and I can't feel my feet. Even though I've got blankets and everything. U_U Booooooo.
From:
no subject
................I.
*stabs icepick into ear*
From:
no subject
From:
no subject
P.S. Cockvore exists in this world. And by that I do not mean that the cock gets eaten, but that the COCK EATS YOU (soviet cock?).
all I can think of is DDS :D
From:
no subject
BUT. It could be done! (It's probably related to the vagina dentata or something. Cousins, maybe! Or twins.)
From:
no subject
COCKVORE? WHERE?
...is it in a fandom where it makes sense?
It -- I can picture that being amazingly horrible, but also being amazingly brainbreakingly good. >->
From:
no subject
BUT given the high percentage of DDS fans on my flist, the possibility seemed like a good one to throw out there. XD
From:
no subject
From:
no subject
I. I suppose that depending on the piece of fried chicken, that could provide full minutes of something-to-do? o________oa
That's kind of bizarre.
From:
no subject
This is of course a sampling of what intelligent non-fannish people who are pretty good at entertaining themselves do, so take it for what it's worth. They seem happy, though.
COCK EATS YOU. *love*
From:
no subject
I've caught myself doing it about this one totally random episode of the Simpsons I caught a long time ago, which ... could be indicative of something about me. XD
I think baking would be a dangerous, dangerous hobby, though. I have this near-Pavlovian reaction to baked goods that I have to snitch SOME of it as soon as it comes out of the oven, no matter how full I am otherwise. XD
In-- well, it doesn't even need to be Soviet Junkyard, does it? THE COCK JUST EATS YOU.
From:
no subject
I guess being a geek and fanish was better than the alternative.
From:
no subject
I like being a geek. .__.
From:
no subject
Me too.
And what does it say that the existence of cockvore doesn't phase me? I think its a good thing. :D
From:
no subject
That's just my $.02.
From:
no subject
Watching them? I think they geek hardcore about the latter half of stuff about as badly as we do, if in a different way. Think fanatic sports team fans compared to our fandom 'ships.
Yeah. >>
Although I get insanely gleeful just standing in a craft store myself, let alone what I'd be like if someone handed me sticks and told me to pound a drum.
From: (Anonymous)
no subject
Also, cockvore is an awesome idea. I think the internet jaded me.
From:
no subject
From:
You even hang out with those non-fandom sorts...
I'm a massive geek, but I'm not a fandom geek.
From:
no subject
And they watch movies! But then... they don't write about them. Or slash anybody in them. Or start any websites about them. ...I don't understand! *brain melts in noncomprehension*
From:
no subject
It's even more puzzling when they admit they don't like to read either.
Then I can only stare at them in utter confusion.