EDIT: I'm home, and there were no disasters! yay!

And the accordian guy is practicing, so I get music through my open window. That's not bad at all. :D /EDIT

EDIT2: [livejournal.com profile] toxictattoo is awesome and got me links for Ayakashi and Mononoke! I have to download a new player, but I don't care. :D

... also there's apparently a BL drama that's Midorikawa Hikaru x Miyata Kouki. This is of note because the first time I heard Sakurai (in GetBackers), I thought it WAS Midorikawa; since then I've learned to differentiate (or maybe Sakurai's adapted?), but there's some lizard part of my fangirl brain that associates them.

Annnnnd see, seeing as my eternal (?!) OTP is Haruka/Kantarou and THAT is Sakurai x Miyata and if we play the associate game ...

... yeah so I downloaded it. DUN JUDGE ME. ToT /EDIT2

Today is a better day than yesterday! So far. I mean, I haven't tried to go home yet, and who knows what I might encounter among the public transportation wildlife. :O

FIRST: Does ANYONE know where I can get a decently-working torrent for Ayakashi and its spinoff, Mononoke? [livejournal.com profile] sjen showed me part of Mononoke a while ago (the unholy awesome lovechild of Mushishi and Gankutsuou♥), and I didn't realize it was actually a spinoff -- AND I didn't realize that the first story of Ayakashi is the Yotsuya Kaidan, which is ... it's the first Japanese ghost story I EVER READ. Also, it's got Hirata Hiroaki as as Iemon, and that's just kind of hilarious in a horrible way. :D

WHY DID I NOT KNOW ABOUT THIS SERIES WHEN IT WAS COMING OUT, AND THE TORRENTS WERE LOVING. [weeps]

Moving on: okay, so. I am going to pontificate at length about, well, pontificating, really. YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED.

I'm not a linguistics geek (I leave that mostly to [livejournal.com profile] maymargret and [livejournal.com profile] rivendellrose whenever I've got questions), but I also occasionally look at the tics and habits I have when I speak -- less aloud, because I can't go back and review those except in my (quite faulty) memory, and more with how I type. When I am writing as myself-my-actual-self (as opposed to myself-the-narrator in fic), I actually am sort of "saying" the words in my head as I type them. (I type fast, but I also talk fast, especially when you get me revved!) All the emoticons and gestures I punctuate myself-as-me writings are things I would do, if I were talking TO you rather than writing at you, short of tilting my head and squinching my eyes for a XD.

I don't really consider myself an old-timer in fandom, not when you've got people who've been on for twenty-plus years -- but I've been online for ... what. Half my life now? (ye gods and fishes, scary!) I tend to hang out with other writers online, or other fangirls, and you see a lot of phrases and words that start somewhere and then just sweep across until it seems my entire flist is using them. Sometimes I catch myself picking them up, because I see them so much, but they always feel kind of jarring to me when they're out of synch with how I would speak. I mean, some things, sure, I pick up -- phrases that are neat (I forget where I picked up "gods and fishes," but I know I read it YEARS ago and was so charmed by it as an exclamation that I'm still using it today), patterns to how I break up my sentences, but there are other things that people seem to love using, and I ... don't?

The biggest example would probably be the online stammering thing. As far as I'm aware, I don't actually stammer (none of the h-hey or t-that's nice or anything like that). I'm much more likely to break a word in half (H......ey or th....at's nice) when I'm uncertain or confused or shocked; I also tend to repeat words! A lot. I've used it a few times, but it just feels weird to me to do -- though I gotta admit, the breaking of a word in half looks about 50000x more awkward. XD (It's also because I tend to "hear" things when I read them, and the stammering thing just doesn't make sense to me a lot of the time. Not in English, at least, since when I try to apply myself and think, I have an easier time hearing a Japanese word stammered than an English one.)

Part of this is coming from the rewrite of Lazarus Child -- I had Bird "talk" a lot in actual dialogue, which in retrospect seems kind of ... awkward. He's a freaking bird; he squawks and makes these croaky noises which you can try to transliterate, but always lose something in the process. On the other hand, I've never gotten into the habit people have of things like "oh, purr" -- it just sounds silly to me when I say it aloud, and when talking as myself, it's like. I'd rather write OUT the weird words, because honestly? People who know me probably know exactly what the weird jumble of letters sound like when vocalized.

Also, god I was terribly in love with single-sentence paragraphs back then. This rewrite is good practice in CUTTING OUT THE EXCESS WORDS that I was using to try and bash the reader's head in with the IMPORTANCE OF MAH SCENE. Why did you people put up with me back then? ... I'm going to look back on my writing in another five years and wonder the same thing about now, aren't I.

Actually, while I'm on the topic, DAMN YOU JKR for making the phrase "half-blood" famous in your contenxt. :( I wrote Lazarus Child in like junior year of high school, but you are fifty gajillion times more famous than I am, and I want to go back and change the phrase, but nothing else really fits. He's not a hybrid, he's not a half-breed, and I am less creative than I like. Damn youuuuuuuuuuuu. [fistshake]

... anyway, ahem.

I mean, is this a normal thing? Or do people try to keep a distinct voice for online journaling (and I'm not just talking about the use of AOL-esque abbreviations, and sadly enough, I will in fact mangle macro-speak aloud if you let me get away with it) that's more articulate and ... poised, I suppose, than their normal self? With writing, there's an infinitely greater capacity for editing and revision, and that's not just for fictional works -- I'd personally find it exhausting, I think, like I was trying to sockpuppet myself, because I'm NOT exactly your super-eloquent elegant speaker. I talk like me whether with my voice or my words, unless I'm talking like the narrator, and that's a sort of anything-goes. XD

I also tend to capitolize single words for emphasis when speaking-as-me, and italicize phrases; I do that a lot less in fiction -- which is to say, I only use italics nine times out of ten, and usually only a word or two, less of phrases. I wonder if that counts as trying to differentiate between my two "voices"?

o hay, it can be going-home tiemz now yay♥
white_aster: (Default)

From: [personal profile] white_aster


tokyotosho.com's got the Mononoke torrents, I know cuz I've been using them. ^_^ It is...verah strange! I can definitely see the Gankutsuou references. I haven't quite seen enough of it to decide if I like it or not. :)

And I picked up most of my online mannerisms from other folks. Like XD and D: from Meg, and the stammering for effect thing from Laylah and Ze Kiwi. I am a big copying faker, I am. ^_^
white_aster: (the power of the cute compels you)

From: [personal profile] white_aster


Eh, sorry then, can't help. :) Oh wait...I'm not sure which series you're talking about, but maybe one of these? http://baka-updates.com/search.php?keyword=ayakashi&type=title&page=1

Heee, CHII IS SO CUTE. THE POWER OF THE CUTE COMPELS YOU!


From: [identity profile] kawaiigami.livejournal.com


I tend to watch my phrasing and edit myself more for journaling here, if truth be told. At least, lately I do. Mostly in a "will anybody actually want to read this" sort of way, and a "putting my best face forward and trying not to sound like an idiot" sort of way. Aside from that, I do tend to write like I speak, though the occasional slight stuttering as words try to come out faster than I can form them doesn't come across.

From: [identity profile] toxictattoo.livejournal.com


[sheepish] Glad I could help and I hope those links work out for you.

From: [identity profile] pinstripesuit.livejournal.com


The Bake Neko arc of Ayakaski is awesome. From what I can see/make out of my extremely rudimentary knowledge of spoken Japanese (can't find subs, blarg).

It amuses me far too much that the Medicine Seller has porny ukiyo-e prints in his box. XD

From: [identity profile] keelieinblack.livejournal.com


Hey, synchronicity--I was just uploading the Bakeneko/Medicine Seller arc of Ayakashi so I could do an "OMG WATCH THIS" post for Mononoke, because it is crazy-weird and gorgeous and I refuse to be the only person who's watching it.

I see that [livejournal.com profile] toxictattoo already set you up with download links, but if there's any trouble with them let me know; I've got all of Ayakashi and it's no trouble for me to upload the rest of the episodes.

From: [identity profile] keelieinblack.livejournal.com


I'm glad to help if I can! So far I've got the whole Bakeneko arc uploaded on Sendspace--that's episodes nine, ten, and eleven. There's also a pdf with notes for the arc here. I can start in on the rest of the episodes once I get home from work today. (Oh, and these are definitely the fansubbed avis.)

From: [identity profile] halcyonjazz.livejournal.com


The only thing I notice about how I talk (far more online than offline) is I morph my speech patterns to reflect the person I'm talking to a lot of the time. If a person speaks in full sentences and more or less sounds proper/dignified, I do the same. And if someone is major in internet lingo and retarded, it's the same thing. This putting aside the mood of the conversation.

I know when I talk with you I notice I use a lot more emoticons and exlamation marks, but otherwise it's pretty close to how I come across naturally XD

From: [identity profile] halcyonjazz.livejournal.com


I do it for a tone thing but I mean, it's something I do actively on first impressions a lot. Until at least I'm comfortable that they won't find me too strong in personality. But until then my comments/IMs are more or less in the same speech pattern as whomever I'm talking to XD

I... don't know. Maybe? I call people by their real names in real life, is the rule. I know I call you Terra when I talk about you to my friends/family offline so I don't think I do XD

SEE YOU THERE BABE ♥

From: [identity profile] sharky-chan.livejournal.com


the unholy awesome lovechild of Mushishi and Gankutsuou
Wait, what? That bears further investigation O.O.

*Now for LC discussion-ness*

See, the whole half-blood thing is tricky, right? Because the mismatched blue and purple eyes are a sign of half-blood demons (in that one parent is human and the other is a demon), and I suppose they could be called half-breeds or mutts or some other unflattering term. But O'ris himself is only mistakenly called that sort of breed.

He's actually just a dead human body with the fragments of his original soul mingling with Horus' and creating enough of a life-force (part demon, part human) to keep him functioning, even though the demonic parts have been mostly sealed away.

I don't think there's any concise term to describe that (not to mention he's one of a kind anyway, so there probably wasn't a term up until Isis created him). Maybe "vessel" or something like that?

But yeah...Osiris is special. Can't think of any word beyond that ^^;;.

From: [identity profile] woodburner.livejournal.com


.. also there's apparently a BL drama that's Midorikawa Hikaru x Miyata Kouki. This is of note because the first time I heard Sakurai (in GetBackers), I thought it WAS Midorikawa; since then I've learned to differentiate (or maybe Sakurai's adapted?), but there's some lizard part of my fangirl brain that associates them.

OMG WHAT IS THIS DRAMA. I haven't heard Miyata Kouki in anything for ages. ;^;

(And yeah, Sakurai and Midorikawa do sound similar... I like Sakurai better though. Midorikawa is a little too nasal for my tastes. Though I did fangirl him pretty hard back in my Slayers fandom days. XD)

I wouldn't worry about the half-blood thing btw - half-blood is a term used in a lot of stories in a lot of different ways so it's not like JKR has sole dibs on it.

From: [identity profile] sjen.livejournal.com


You will love Ayakashi ~Japanese Classic Horror, Kouhai. LOVE. It's made of awesome. I guess you found it already (?), but I do have it on DVD somewhere. ^.^ I guess I forgot to mention the spin-off part? That's why I jumped on d/ling Mononoke when it started coming out. I haven't liked a creepy series like Ayakashi since Hyaku Monogatari. ^^

From: [identity profile] skyrat13.livejournal.com


I was trying to come up with names for an original story, and I had to cross out half of the ones I liked because they sounded too JKR-ish and the very last thing I'd want is people thinking I was trying to be like her T__T
I feel like her shadow is looming over the literary world, argh.

From: [identity profile] skyrat13.livejournal.com


Hellz yeah, the very first time I picked up Book One, my immediate reaction was "Harry lives under the stairs?? That's so Roald Dahl." Umbridge was such a rip-off of Mrs. Trunchbull (HP has such a Matilda vibe to it all-round). Roald Dahl has probably influenced me more than any other writer, and if people are going to accuse me of not being original enough, I'd rather he got the credit....

The problem with names is that JKR used so many of them it's easy to overlap and not even realize it. I named one of my OC's 'Amos' (I named him after my grandparent's cat, I wasn't trying to be weird or fancy or anything,) and later realized that was also the name of Cedric Diggory's dad (luckily not an important enough character that anyone even remembers him.) Her ridiculous level of famousness has made me a little paranoid.

From: [identity profile] skyrat13.livejournal.com


Well no, I figured I was safe with that one, which is why I'm still using it. There have been other names I wanted to use but discarded because they would have definite associations. I worry about using the names of people I know too. I wanted to name a character Ben, but was too afraid of weirding out a good friend in real life.

I tried arguing to my coworker about how much of what makes HP good is blatantly ripped off of Dahl, and he was just like "oh that's just the whole British style, it's not unique to Dahl either." Grrrrr.

I think JK is entertaining enough, but she seriously lacks the quality that she seems to get a lot of credit for. I can name lots of 'similar' authors that are simply and unarguably better writers.

From: [identity profile] skyrat13.livejournal.com


Someone was SERIOUSLY calling Pratchett second-rate to Rowling? That's just laughable.

I was utterly dismayed a few days ago, when I went looking through the Barnes and Noble Mythology section because I wanted to find a book on American Tall Tales, and instead I found a HP enyclopedia book. Harry Potter does not belong on the same shelf as Joseph Campbell and Greek Mythology. No. Just, no.

My favorite author that gets overshadowed by Rowling is Diana Wynne Jones, although now that Miyazaki made a movie out of Howl's Moving Castle she's getting a bit more well-deserved attention. I'd personally prefer acknowledgement from Hayao Miyazaki over the weird cult following that Rowling has aquired.

Oh man, I go off on tangent rants sooo easily when JKR's name gets dropped, haha.

From: [identity profile] vowel.livejournal.com


I write like how I speak. Or think in my mind. ^^; And when I write, I have to have at least coherent sentences with basic grammar and punctuation. I don't force it upon myself, it just happens. And I'm probably a lot more hyper and capslock-happy online than I am in real life. XD
.

Most Popular Tags

Powered by Dreamwidth Studios

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags