You know you're among people you can be silly with when you have an entire conversation consisting of the word "mango."

You ALSO know you're living with someone compatible with you when you have a discussion, the first night you're both moved in, and discover that you both watch only two channels, if/when you watch TV at all -- Cartoon Network, and Food Network. (IRON CHEF. We're gonna tape it and do marathons, since it runs late at night here and we both have 8:30 classes. XD;) And the people in our cluster have set us up with this genuine geekpit in our lounge -- ginormous flatscreen TV (wtf! o_o), XBox, GameCube, PS2 ... we were the most popular cluster during Open Cluster Night, until people found out that they were giving away free Italian Sodas on the 11th floor. XD

My Japanese textbook came with an audio cassette, too. Man, I haven't listened to one of these in YEARS, but -- cassette! ... I don't suppose anyone in Seattle either knows where I can buy a really cheap player, or has one I could borrow? X3 But man, cassette -- I'm honestly surprised. And Bioscientific Terminology may be the class that guts me and leaves me to rot (there's so much memorization, OMG Greek and OMG Latin), but I'm hopeful for now!

... I really desperately want episode 51 of Fullmetal Alchemist. But, on the other hand, I feel better now that the pain is shared.
Tags:

From: [identity profile] arete.livejournal.com


Is the textbook Yookoso? If it is, I can send you the mp3s for the Intro plus the first two chapters. Our textbook had either the cassettes or CDs, and as I haven't a player either for several years... CDs it was. Unfortunately, playing them as audio CDs crashed my laptop, so I ripped them to mp3s, and gave the CDs to a fellow classmate.

From: [identity profile] chibirisu.livejournal.com


Our class had the same problem -- nobody owned cassette players and they didn't have CDs for the book (which wasn't that old, the writers -- who went to our university, I'm somewhat embarrassed to say -- were just that out of touch with the state of current technology). So we got the one person in the class who had a tape player together with the person in the class who knew how to digitize cassettes and then everyone got an MP3 CD.

You might ask around if any of your classmates know about digitizing?

From: [identity profile] chibirisu.livejournal.com


just read an earlier reply... :snerk: Nakama was our series too! So I could help you out if I could find my disk! I don't know if I still have my MP3 disk though... I might've loaned it to the person who borrowed my book for the semester too... Anyway, I'll go hunt some...

From: [identity profile] ayabai.livejournal.com


do you have a language lab? that's where i always went to listen to my japanese tapes to do the homework ;;;;

From: [identity profile] emmling.livejournal.com


Language Lab's in the basement of Denny. One side is listening to cassettes and cds and such, and the other is computers.

From: [identity profile] emmling.livejournal.com

Nakama


The class should have all the listening bits online, on the course website. That's how it worked for my two years of Japanese at UW. They should have answer keys up as well, so you can check stuff easily before turning it in. Good luck!
.

Most Popular Tags

Powered by Dreamwidth Studios

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags